7 Ways To Enjoy A Gluten Free Diet

3. Skip the Sauce

Olive oil, balsamic vinegar and vegetables on old wooden background
© Laimdota Grivane | Dreamstime Stock Photos

Many sauces, gravies, salad dressings, condiments and stocks contain gluten in the form of wheat flour. Gluten is an excellent thickening agent, so it is used in many sauces or dips. If there is no way of knowing which ingredients are used to make a dip or sauce while at a restaurant, be sure to avoid them. Or pick sauces that are guaranteed gluten free, such as oil and vinegar on a salad.

Making homemade sauces is another way to enjoy them without the fear of accidently consuming gluten. Corn flour, arrowroot flour and potato starch can be used as thickening agents to make homemade gluten free gravy. Mustard makes a great substitution for gravy on many meat dishes. Many people do not know that soy contains gluten. Be sure to opt for a gluten free version of any soy based marinades when ordering from a restaurant. Or buy a bottle of gluten free soy sauce from the grocery store.

BACK
(5 of 8)
NEXT
BACK
(5 of 8)
NEXT

MORE FROM SymptomFacts

    MORE FROM SymptomFacts

      MORE FROM SymptomFacts